Mad day…

Ok, so we’ve gone for it now…

We went to the introduction meeting.

It was more like a meet and greet with a bit of a question and answer set up.

I’m not going to lie, I was very nervous. Alice was too. She went into babble and fiddle mode!

We had downloaded all the information available and had filled our form out. There was no need to do it before the presentation evening but we were fairly sure this was what we wanted!

Just incase you’re reading this and wonder what it’s like to attend one of these, I’ll try and explain it in the next post properly…

We were attending the “event” shall we say, at the beautiful stadium of light in Sunderland. Now, as a Sunderland supporter, this was already awesome, but anyhoo…

I’d been at work all day, strange day where nothing goes right kinda day… It’s totally irrelevant, but I want to set the scene before the next post!

Woke up at 6.22am precisely. This sounds good and prepared but no. At 6.22 I’d expect to be alone in bed as Alice should be just about to arrive at work. Needless to say sleeping beauty was still lying there next to me! I quickly woke her up and had to rush her into the city to get to work in time. Then after talking about it in the car, we decided it would be best if she kept the house key so she could get home easily after work. One key is currently with her Mum so she can get in to let he woofs out.

All fine and dandy until I realised that I didn’t have a key to get back in after dropping her off. Thankfully Andy was still home and I was able to steal the key back to get in… Then an hour later after sorting myself out for work, I left and headed to the park and ride to take me into Durham.

I arrived with plenty of time and got on the bus with my colleague. Chatting away and I realised I’d left my phone in its holder on the dashboard, basically as an open invitation to smash and grab… The car park is pretty good and they have good security, but even so I knew it would be playing on my mind. I decided to stay on the bus and wait for it to turn around in the city centre and head back up to where I was parked.

Time to kill, what do you do? Social media of course! Out comes the iPad and I’m merrily scrolling away, when I look up from the page I noticed we aren’t heading back to the park and ride I’m parked at, but the one the other side of Durham… No choice but to sit and wait until it had done the full loop before it started heading back to the car.

Arrived in a fluster to the office to more things going wrong of course…

Basically today was no looking right at all!

Then I was due to meet a friend to check the car out after work and he was a no show.

I had planned to quickly change at his garage too so I could be a bit more presentable after the heat all day in the office, but no luck there either and time was running short for me to get across Sunderland to the stadium.

Traffic was bareable and it helped that I spent most of it behind this one bus heading to Shields that had a huge adoption advert on the back of it… Then the radio seemed to know what songs to play as well. I’d hastily done my makeup in the car mirror and I was close to losing it as emotions were definitely running high!

I arrived and found some ladies who worked for the events team at the stadium. All I wanted to know was if it was ok to park where I had and they were convinced there was no event on… Cue further confusion!

Thankfully it all got sorted and I quickly shuffled around in the back seat of the car and changed. Classy stuff I must say. Thankfully the windows are slightly tinted in the boot so my modesty was preserved. I hope…

What a daft series of events on a hot day in July.

But, out of chaos comes the calm… 🙂

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

