A family member that I’m thankful for and why… My mother in law!

I’ve started a lists thing to ensure I post more frequently and to stop me only venting on this site.

I need to remember that things aren’t always bad and that there is more to us than babies and genetics and cancers…

So today it asked me to think about a family member that I’m grateful for. This in itself is a bit of a trial!

Obviously I dearly love my mum and dad, but I thought I’d take a different route and talk about my mother in law.

Over the years the standard mother in law has been the butt of many a joke. She’s seen as the meddling monster who interferes when you least want her to, always thinks she knows best when she doesn’t, and most relationships will have that moment when the wife/husband will be pitted against her in a who’s right and who’s wrong scenario.

All in all, pretty negative views.

My mother in law is different.

Because there’s quite an age gap between me and Alice, it has left only 9 years between me and her mum. I think this helps as we’re not from completely different times! We both know about the 80s. The only difference is that I was dancing around my living room pretending to be a pop star and she was sneaking into clubs.

I love Rachel to bits and I’m very lucky that she accepts me into her family.

The reason Rachel first sprang to mind this week when I saw this post topic is because last Sunday, the 17th of November, we lost Alice’s nan, Rachel’s mum.

It was so sad, but she had her family around her when the time came. Alice was the only grandchild there. She wanted to be there for Rachel and Rachel’s brother and sister.

Nan had been the very centre of this family and was loved by everyone – in laws included. She spoke to me as we were having photos taken when we signed the register at our wedding. She welcomed me to the family. It meant the world to me.

20131123-154301.jpg

Rachel will be my child’s grandma. She’ll be there for them with sweets and cuddles. But most importantly, she’ll be there for me and Alice.

Now don’t get me wrong, my Mum is a fantastic one!! She’ll be there for us no matter what. But this is, to me, about having love for someone that is basically a new addition to my life.

We live around the corner from Rach, and it’s nice because she keeps an eye on the house and the animals while we are at work. But more importantly it’s nice to have family so close. I’ve never been in that situation before. Family visits were planned ahead, scheduled for the weekend or perhaps even longer due to distance.

Last night we had an impromptu trip to ikea and it was lovely.

They’re both as mad as each other mind!

20131123-154137.jpg

20131123-154153.jpg

I guess, I’m thankful for being accepted as Alice’s wife, when with other partners there’s often been friction and sometimes full blown hatred.

I’ve truly got two mums and that makes me a very lucky girl.

One thought on “A family member that I’m thankful for and why… My mother in law!

  1. Pingback: Month 2 and another day closer. | The Roberts Family Blog

Leave a Reply

